Test Design StudioGo to Previous Topic: Customizing Auto-Inserted Comment TemplateGo to Next Topic: Split Views

Bookmarks

Bookmarks are used to tag lines in a document that you need to reference. When a bookmark is set, a glyph will be displayed next to the line to indicate the presence of the bookmark. A bookmark will always stay on the same line of the document even as you add or remove lines.

Bookmark Types

The screen shot above shows the three types of bookmarks.
Bookmark TypeDescription
Standard Bookmark (Enabled) Line 1 shows a standard bookmark that is enabled. You insert/remove these bookmarks by selecting Edit -> Bookmarks -> Toggle Bookmark from the main menu. When this command is executed, a bookmark will be toggled on/off on the line of the editor where the caret is currently positioned. You may use the Next Bookmark and Previous Bookmark commands to jump from one bookmark to another.
Note:   Standard Bookmarks are not saved/restored with a document. When a document is closed, the bookmarks are removed.
Standard Bookmark (Disabled) Line 3 shows a standard bookmark that is disabled. You enabled/disable a bookmark by placing the caret on the line where the bookmark is located and selecting Edit -> Bookmarks -> Enable Bookmark. A bookmark that is disabled will be skipped over when using the Next Bookmark and Previous Bookmark commands. You may also enabled/disable a bookmark using the Bookmarks tool window.
Task List Shortcut Line 5 shows a Task List shortcut. This is a special bookmark that creates an entry in the Task List tool window. Use this feature to mark lines of a document that require a certain follow-up action. These bookmarks are for use within the Task List tool window only, and are not navigated by using the Next Bookmark and Previous Bookmark commands. You add/remove a Task List shortcut by placing the caret on the line where the bookmark is to be added/removed and selecting Edit -> Bookmarks -> Add/Remove Task List Shortcut from the main menu.
Note:   Task List Shortcut bookmarks are saved/restored for a document based on the solution that document is contained within. As long as you open a document from the same solution, the task list shortcuts will be restored.

Bookmark Commands

The following commands are available for working with bookmarks and are available from the Edit -> Bookmarks menu off the main menu.
CommandDescription
Toggle BookmarkToggle the presence of a standard bookmark on the line where the caret is currently positioned.
Enable/Disable BookmarkEnables/Disables a standard bookmark on the line where the caret is currently displayed.
Previous BookmarkMoves the caret to the first bookmark that occurs before the caret's current position. If there are no bookmarks available for navigation in the current document, Test Design Studio will move to the last bookmark of a loaded document that occurs before the current document.
Next BookmarkMoves the caret to the first bookmark that occurs after the caret's current position. If there are no bookmarks available for navigation in the current document, Test Design Studio will move to the first bookmark of a loaded document that occurs after the current document.
Clear BookmarksRemoves all standard bookmarks for all open documents.
Previous Bookmark in DocumentMoves the caret to the first bookmark that occurs before the caret's current position. If there are no bookmarks available for navigation, the caret will wrap to the last bookmark that occurs in the same document.
Next Bookmark in DocumentMoves the caret to the first bookmark that occurs after the caret's current position. If there are no bookmarks available for navigation, the caret will wrap to the first bookmark that occurs in the same document.
Clear All Bookmarks in DocumentRemoves all standard bookmarks for the current document.
Add/Remove Task List ShortcutAdds/Removes a Task List shortcut bookmark from the line where the caret is currently displayed.

Bookmarks Tool Window

Use the Bookmarks tool window to help organize and maintain the bookmarks you have established.