Test Design StudioGo to Previous Topic: Working with Version ControlGo to Next Topic: New File Item Templates

Offline Mode

Overview

Test Design Studio allows you to work with your HPE Application Lifecycle Management (ALM) assets even when the server is not available. Since Test Design Studio stores local copies of all files, this allows you to fully work with this files when the server is not available and synchronize your changes when the server is back on-line. To prevent Test Design Studio from attempting to interact with ALM, you place the server in Offline Mode.

Activating Offline Mode

To activate Offline Mode for a server, locate the server in the Server Explorer tool window. Right-click the server node and select Work Offline from the context menu.

Tip:   If you know a server is unavailable, activate Offline Mode prior to opening any solutions/projects that contain ALM files. This will prevent Test Design Studio from trying to connect to the server for those files.
Note:   If the Work Offline menu command is already checked, the server is already in Offline Mode.

Before taking the server offline, you will be prompted to synchronize your files.

The Synchronize ALM Files dialog has the following options when taking a server offline.
OptionDescription
Download Updated Files Use this option to download all files that have been modified on the ALM server since you last downloaded the file. This helps ensure you have the most recent copies of all files before going offline.
Upload Updated Files Use this option to upload all files that have been modified locally and not uploaded to the server. This helps ensure that others will have access to the files you have modified after you go offline.
Full SynchronizationUse this option to perform a full synchronization of your files. This is a combination of Download Updated Files and Upload Updated Files.
Do Not SynchronizeUse this option to go offline without performing synchronization.
CancelUse this option to cancel your request and remain on-line.

Tip:   If the server is already unavailable, use the Do Not Synchronize option.

Returning to On-line Mode

When you regain access to your ALM server, you may return to Online Mode to allow Test Design Studio to continue managing your ALM files. To deactivate Offline mode, locate the server in the Server Explorer tool window. Right-click the server node and uncheck Work Offline from the context menu.

After bringing the server back on-line, you will be prompted to synchronize your files.

The Synchronize ALM Files dialog has the following options when brining a server on-line.
OptionDescription
Download Updated Files Use this option to download all files that have been modified on the ALM server since you last downloaded the file. This helps ensure you have the most recent copies of all files that have been modified on the server while you were offline.
Upload Updated Files Use this option to upload all files that have been modified locally and not uploaded to the server. This helps ensure that others will have access to the files you have modified while you were offline.
Full Synchronization Use this option to perform a full synchronization of your files. This is a combination of Download Updated Files and Upload Updated Files.
Do Not SynchronizeUse this option to go on-line without performing synchronization.