Test Design StudioGo to Previous Topic: Add an Existing Folder to a ProjectGo to Next Topic: Hidden Files and Folders

Remove a File or Folder from a Project

When you no longer want a particular file/folder to be a part of your project, you can choose to delete the file/folder or just exclude it from your project.

Excluding a File/Folder

The easiest way to remove a file/folder from your project is to exclude it. First select the corresponding file/folder node in the Solution Explorer tool window. Then select Project -> Exclude from Project from the main menu. The file/folder will be removed from the project, but will not be deleted.

Note:   This option is not available for linked files or HPE Application Lifecycle Management files.

Delete a File/Folder

When you delete a file/folder, that item is removed from the project and the physical files are deleted from the file system. First select the corresponding file/folder node in the Solution Explorer tool window. Then select Edit -> Delete from the main menu.

Note:   This option is not available for linked files or HPE Application Lifecycle Management files.
Warning:   Files/Folders deleted from a project will not appear in the Windows Recycle Bin. Use with caution.

Remove a Linked File or HPE ALM File

To remove a linked file or HPE Application Lifecycle Management (ALM) file from a project, first select the corresponding file in the Solution Explorer tool window. Then select Edit -> Remove from the main menu. Since linked files do not physically exist within the project, only the reference to the file is removed. When you remove an ALM file, the file is removed from the project and only the locally downloaded copy of the file will be deleted from the file system. The original ALM file is not deleted.